Home » The Navajo Nation does follow DST

The Navajo Nation does follow DST

by Team Techvilly
The Navajo Nation does follow DST

The Navajo Nation does follow DST

The Navajo Nation does follow DST, The only exception in Arizona that observes daylight saving time is the Navajo Nation. It is a territory with limited autonomy and self-government within the United States. It is populated by Native Americans and covers an area of ​​​​71,000 km2.

In addition to occupying large portions of northeastern Arizona, the Navajo State also encompasses southeastern Utah and northwestern New Mexico. It is the largest area of ​​land purchased by a tribe in the United States.

It is managed through agreements with the country’s Congress. Its institutions include a judicial system, extensive law enforcement, and certain social services.

There is no DST in the Hopi Nation

A portion of the Hopi Nation, which is nestled within the Navajo Nation, does not follow DST, as does the rest of Arizona.

But to make everything more convoluted, there is an even smaller territory of the Navajo Nation within the Hopi Nation (see map above). There, summertime is observed. Additionally, there is another Hopi area adjacent to the mainland of the Hopi Nation that does not follow DST.

As a result, if you drive from the Arizona state line through the Navajo and Hopi areas, you may end up changing your watch 7 times…

The towns of Tuba City (Navajo) and Moenkopi (Hopi) are less than 4 kilometers away. But they have a time difference of one hour during the summer. Jeddito (Navajo), in the middle of Hopi Nation territory, is an hour ahead of surrounding areas during the summer.

Latin America: different realities with the DST

In Latin America, DST is observed in Paraguay, Chile, and southern Brazil. Venezuela, Suriname, Guiana, and French Guiana have never used it.

But the rest of the Latin American countries have gone through DST at some point in their history, usually during the oil crisis. For example, Argentina stopped using DST in 2009 and has subsequently only made time changes in some regions to save energy.

DST in Asia and Oceania

In Asia, China experimented with DST since 1986 but abandoned it in 1992. Malaysia used it since 1933 but stopped using it in 1981. South Korea used it in two periods, 1955–1960 and 1987–1988. Turkey, Iraq, and Azerbaijan also change their time. The same is true in the Middle East with Israel, Palestine, Syria, Lebanon, and Jordan.

In Australia, the Australian Capital Territory and the states of New South Wales, Victoria, Tasmania, and South Australia – totaling less than half of the country’s area – do change time. In Oceania, also in New Zealand, and Papua New Guinea they change the clock.

Related Posts

Leave a Comment

Techvilly is an online webpage that provides business news, tech, telecom, digital marketing, auto news, and website reviews around World.

Contact us: info@techvilly.com

@2022 – Techvilly. All Right Reserved. Designed by Techager Team